Constellation

Constellation

In the beginning of this post I would like to state that I have been writing throughout the term, but I just didn’t feel confident enough to publish. I needed some time to upload my Constellation posts, because I was not sure what was going on and what exactly the purpose of this module was, although I could say it in theory.

Keynotes

Introduction

We were told about the purpose of Constellation and what we were going to do throughout the year. Constellation was described as “star gazing” and it is the “beating heart of the subject”. I am not exactly sure what is going to happen, but let’s see. Sounds interesting and consisting of various aspects. I expect that we are going to be introduced to different concepts and historical events that are going to broaden our points of view and enrich our knowledge.

Post-Perspective

This keynote was our first real constellation lecture. Everything that we heard was intriguing and made me want to research more. Perspective is something we do not always notice, but it is the main element of each point of view – something that defines what we actually see. What was of a particular interest to me and remained in my mind after the session had finished:

  • Even though a map doesn’t resemble buildings and parks, our brain makes the connection, even though we have never seen a city from above. The image itself wouldn’t remind us of buildings if we didn’t know that those are actually buildings.
  • In the past when people discovered perspective they used physical wooden gridded frames to help them compose the canvas. This was a surprise for me and I think that it is still valid. I would like to try using this technique in my work. It is not even necessary to have a wooden frame – you could just imagine having one and separating what you want to draw in square sections.

The Sensorial object Natasha Mayo

We were introduced to the “Sensorial object” which I am definitely going to like to take a look at. It is going to be an exhibition down the bay. The main lessons I took from this lecture: 1) Each material makes meaning – this is something I completely agree with, each material carries different associations and the way in which we choose to use it defines our outcome due to the meaning it carries. 2) Marketing is one of an extreme importance when it comes to art&design. Personally I agree with this statement. Knowing how to promote yourself is equally as important as how valuable your work is. It might even be more important (yes it is). How you present yourself and your projects affects how people see you. I have to work in this direction because I have always doubted myself and this is bad on the one hand because thus I cannot simply share my stuff and be confident, but on the other hand it is good because I always try to improve. In the future one of my aims is to find the balance between the two.

Sonic arts

This is only keynote I couldn’t attend physically so far, and regret it so much! However, after listening to what Alexandros said on Blackboard I found out that for me it was the most interesting lecture so far. Music is something I really appreciate and spend a lot of time and energy on. Everything that I heard in this lecture was new and I felt like I want to learn more in this direction.

Library

I almost fell asleep. Sorry for being that painfully honest. I had already been to the library and tried using Summon so what I heard was not engaging at all. Probably it was helpful for the people who haven’t been there, but I think that if you haven’t tried on your own and don’t have the desire to do it (and it is more that obvious how) you are not going to do it even after a lecture explaining how. Personal opinion.

Study Skills

Questioning Mahnaz Shah

As designers it is important to question everything in order to discover new points of view. This session proved it and revealed the variety of questions that could be asked and answered. Personally I have always lived according to the theory “never give anything 100%” in all aspects of life. Everything could be doubted, even though it may look untouchable.

We were given a letter written in relation to Dadaism. Then in groups of two we were asked to think of the potential meanings of its components. It was impressive how you may think your point of view is obvious but all the other people in the room have a different one. Each one of us had a different thesis on this abstract text and that I think Is amazing because I usually tend to think that my thoughts are also everybody else’s thoughts and what I think is not interesting or unique at all.

Writing Morag Colquhoun

This session introduced us to academic writing and referencing, something which was of a great importance to me, because referencing in my country is neither compulsory nor strict as it is here.  Hearing the rules and requirements of referencing from university lecturer will prevent a lot of pressure compared to what it would be if I had to depend on my own research. So what I discovered is that it is not scary at all, it only looks complex at first sight. What I must remember is to keep track of all the sources used and mark immediately after reading to avoid NESHTO.

Analyzing Cath Davies

A useful lecture which improved our analyzing skills. A simple technique, which can be applied anywhere was given to us – it will definitely be used when it comes to writing my essay, something I must start doing very soon.

Self-reflection and feedback Ashley Morgan

I couldn’t attend this study skills session with my group so I joined another group in order to catch up. We thought about our personal strengths and weaknesses, self-reflection and feedback.  Ashley was very supportive and encouraged us to accept our insecurities. Even after this session I don’t feel like uploading my reflection. After all I am writing all of this for myself and not somebody else. The important thing is that I am writing. That’s the point, isn’t it?

Sonic Arts Alexandros

My last study skills session got me so excited! 😀 This study skills session was the most interesting of all. What was most memorable was one simple exercise – we were shown different coloured images and were asked to choose for each one a sound out of three. Another interesting part of the session was having to draw a sound. Surprisingly most of the outcomes were similar…

STUDY SKILLS GROUPS

In the beginning of term two we have to choose which lecturer we would like to finish the year with, and what intrigues us most out of the presented study groups. While listening I wanted to be able to attend all of the lectures presented – they are all focused on areas that I am interested in. However, the two that I am going to choose between are Sonic arts and Expressing the unseen.

SONIC ARTS

The module that I chose is one that I’ve been wanting to investigate in more depth for a long time, but I haven’t, for particular reasons. This was my first choice and I am starting with great enthusiasm as music has always been something that I value and I would love to learn more about how different people have challenged the accepted notion of music and sound as well as the different stages of music to becoming what it is now.

Some basic information on the artists that have challenged the accepted definition of sound and music:

LUIGI RUSSOLO (30 April 1885 – 6 February 1947)

“…often regarded as one of the first noise music experimental composers with his performances of noise music concerts in 1913–14 and then again after World War I, notably in Paris in 1921. He designed and constructed a number of noise-generating devices called Intonarumori.”

Italian futurism. The Art of Noise” ,1913 is a very interesting manifesto that was part of our reading list. Luigi Russolo has dedicated his work to noise-art

Before our first session I read the recommended materials by Alexandros and the first thing that we had to read was the Manifesto. In the beginning I didn’t fully understand what I am reading and couldn’t relate it to the time when it was written. But after a while it became so engaging that i even decided to read it a few more times to digest the information fully. The first time i read the manifesto, the source was a book borrowed from the library. When I got back home I decided to read it once again and it was a surprise for me to find that the online source I found with the same text includes something more- a sound poem called “Zang Tumb Tumb” by Filippo Tommaso  which was an inspiration for Luigi Russolo to experiment with noise. But the most interesting part is that this poem tells “the story of the siege by the Bulgarians of Turkish Adrianople in the Balkan War, which Marinetti had witnessed as a war reporter”. I am Bulgarian and I didn’t know anything about this poem which ” is now seen as a seminal work of modernist art, and an enormous influence on the emerging culture of European avant-garde print” which is a shame. This was a very interesting discovery for me.


EDGARD VARESE (December 22, 1883 – November 6, 1965)

“…was a French-born composer who spent the greater part of his career in the United States. Varèse’s music emphasizes timbre and rhythm and he coined the term “organized sound” in reference to his own musical aesthetic. Varèse’s conception of music reflected his vision of “sound as living matter” and of “musical space as open rather than bounded”.”

Varèse thought that “to stubbornly conditioned ears, anything new in music has always been called noise”, and he posed the question, “what is music but organized noises?”


JOHN CAGE (September 5, 1912 – August 12, 1992)

“John Milton Cage Jr.  was an American composer, music theorist, writer, and artist. A pioneer of indeterminacy in music, electroacoustic music, and non-standard use of musical instruments, Cage was one of the leading figures of the post-war avant-garde. Critics have lauded him as one of the most influential American composers of the 20th century.”

John Cage talking about silence: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pcHnL7aS64Y Cage’s most famous piece – 4’33”: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zY7UK-6aaNA

John Cage is extremely interesting to me! The way he talks about silence is so engaging and somehow magical. His book “Silence” which I took a look at seemed light and easy to read but at the same time worth reading and it is in my reading list now.


“I am sitting in a room” 2012 by Alvin Lucier  : https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TSR2LSuzP_M

“Lucier recording himself narrating a text, and then playing the recording back into the room, re-recording it. The new recording is then played back and re-recorded, and this process is repeated. Since all rooms have characteristic resonance or formant frequencies (e.g. different between a large hall and a small room), the effect is that certain frequencies are emphasized as they resonate in the room, until eventually the words become unintelligible, replaced by the pure resonant harmonies and tones of the room itself.”

This performance is something that I find very interesting. It reminded me of an Instagram experiment which changes the initial nature of the source picture by applying filters until the picture is unidentifiable : http://petapixel.com/2015/02/11/experiment-shows-happens-repost-photo-instagram-90-times/

Leave a Reply

