COLLAGE EXPERIMENT

Imagine a room full of colours and ideas. And 60 young busy minds.
That’s our studio!
On 30th September (second day of our first real week) our tutors introduced us to the work created by some of the most renowned collage artists worldwide. After that we had to try and make a collage
ourselves. We were supplied with plenty of magazines and newspapers, scissors and scalpels, and glue. There was only one requirement- to include a person in our collage. I found this exercise really interesting – first of all, you never know exactly what type of images you will find in a random magazine. So you are either lucky with images that suit you and your ideas, or not. My work – I had no idea what I was doing. Really. After the 15th minute my mind just went crazy with all the pictures I saw and the different possible combinations. And furthermore – you only cut once. So.. no mistakes allowed ! No Photoshop here!
However, I am not very satisfied with the final result, even though I think I succeeded creating one other possible reality based on the similarities between different objects. What I don’t like about it is the composition, there is a lot of useless space,which makes the whole image look empty, even though the eyes connect both characters. I could’ve done better.

collage

“Support living artists, the dead ones don’t need it.”
Some pieces from the french graphic design duo M/M Paris

mm1 mm-posters-11mm2

Leave a Reply

